Delta State University defines diversity as the inclusive uniqueness of individuals and their different social characteristics and affinities.

Diversity Mission Statement

In the pursuit of academic excellence, Delta State University is committed to creating and maintaining an inclusive academic community that fosters productive intellectual exchange while bridging gaps in the differences in the human experience.  DSU’s goal is to encourage the contributions of each individual in its learning community by providing venues for multicultural education and training in an environment of mutual respect.  Through the recruitment and retention of a diverse student body, faculty, and staff, Delta State exemplifies its understanding and appreciation of the individual fabric that creates the rich tapestry of our global community.

Diversity Advisory Committee Members

  • Arlene Story Sanders, Political Science, Chair
  • George Beals
  • Lauren Coker-Durso
  • Charnessa Curb
  • Sofiya Dahman
  • Kelvin Davis
  • Sylma Ferreira
  • Michelle Johansen
  • Shalando Jones
  • Michael Lipford
  • Marlan McElroy
  • Brittany Reed
  • Chunhui Ren
  • Christy Riddle
  • Temika Simmons
  • Leslie Stewart
  • Shelia Williams
  • Website maintained by: Lauren Coker-Durso


Images from SHE-ROES, February 2019

Performance at Jobe Auditorium, written and performed by Florence Roach