Fraternities and Sororities

Fraternities and sororities enable a person to broaden intellectually and socially by working with people of diverse backgrounds dedicated to common goals. The groups offer many opportunities to develop leadership and responsibility and to participate in a varied social program.

Students are selected for membership during Formal Membership Recruitment, Intake periods or any time during the academic year when chapters have membership openings. DSU Greek Life is governed by three bodies:

  • The Interfraternity Council (IFC) governs four fraternities, Kappa Alpha, Kappa Sigma, Pi Kappa Alpha, and Sigma Alpha Epsilon. IFC holds a Formal Recruitment near the beginning of the Fall Semester.
  • The Panhellenic Council on behalf of the National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) governs three sororities, Delta Delta Delta, Kappa Delta, and Phi Mu. Panhellenic Council conducts Formal Membership Recruitment the week preceding the Fall Semester.
  • The National Pan Hellenic Council (NPHC) governs three sororities, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Sigma Gamma Rho, and Zeta Phi Beta, and four fraternities, Alpha Phi Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, and Phi Beta Sigma. The Pan holds Intake activities throughout the academic year.

Informal Recruitment continues as needed throughout the year for all Greek groups. All students must be officially registered with the appropriate university Greek Advisor prior to the beginning of any kind of Recruitment activities.

Social Sororities

Panhellenic Council (governing body)
Delta Delta Delta
Kappa Delta
Phi Mu

National Pan Hellenic Council (governing body)
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Delta Sigma Theta
Zeta Phi Beta

Sigma Gamma Rho

Social Fraternities

Interfraternity Council (governing body)
Kappa Alpha Order
Kappa Sigma
Pi Kappa Alpha
Sigma Alpha Epsilon

National Pan Hellenic Council (governing body)
Alpha Phi Alpha
Kappa Alpha Psi
Omega Psi Phi
Phi Beta Sigma