Skip to main content

Delta State offices to be closed on Fridays through summer

By May 9, 2017

Effective this week, Delta State University offices will be open 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday and will be closed on Friday throughout the summer. Regular office hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Monday through Friday) will resume on August 7, 2017.

The summer hour schedule is part of a number of measures the university has put in place to offset $2.2 million in state budget cuts. By closing buildings for the summer and all academic buildings on Fridays, the university will save on the cost to operate and cool those buildings during the hot summer months. In addition, the university will be raising the thermostat temperature in the buildings that will remain open, with the exception of residence halls, to 74 degrees from 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. and to 80 degrees after hours and on weekends.

The following departments will remain open on Fridays: Police Department, DSU Post Office, Child Development Program, Roberts-LaForge Library, the university switchboard, Kent Wyatt Hall and residence halls.

Jobe Hall, Holcombe-Norwood Hall, Broom Hall and Walter Sillers Coliseum will remain closed for the summer. These buildings will open for special events and camps.

For more information, contact Jennifer Farish at 662-846-4675 or