Skip to main content

Biological honor society at DSU announces new inductees

By May 7, 2024Students
The new inductees into the TriBeta Biological Honor Society at Delta State are: (L to R) I'Kevia Johnson, Marquaja Murry, Cannan Mercer, Erick Manriquez, Donald Coleman, John Hong, Reed Terrell, Mathematics & Science Division Chair Dr. Joseph Bentley, Johnetta White, Kaylondria Thomas, Regan Stafford, Savannah Conway , Meredith Rice, Kirsten Smith, Brady Bozeman, Layan Asmar, Sha'Daria Darden, Olivia McDade and JaMaya Batteast.

By Jamelia Mason

CLEVELAND, Miss. — The Delta State University chapter of the TriBeta Biological Honor Society recently held its induction ceremony, marking a significant milestone in recognizing academic excellence and dedication to biological studies among its members. The ceremony saw the formal induction of several new members into the society, who were presented with official certificates to commemorate their achievement.

Attended by friends, family members, and distinguished faculty, including the Mathematics & Science Interim Division Chair, Dr. Joseph Bentley, the induction ceremony served as a platform to celebrate the accomplishments of the newly inducted members and reaffirm the society’s commitment to fostering a community of scholars passionate about biological sciences.

Interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Dr. Ellen Green extended her support and encouragement to the officers of the society by sending gift cards, emphasizing the university’s appreciation for their leadership and dedication to the TriBeta chapter.

Dr. Aniruddha Acharya, the faculty advisor for the society, expressed his excitement about the addition of new members, stating, “We are excited to have such a vibrant group of students in our society. This definitely improves their college experience as they learn many useful skills that are not taught through textbooks.”

TriBeta is an honor society dedicated to promoting the understanding and appreciation of biological study among undergraduate students. Founded in 1922, TriBeta has upheld its mission of extending the boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research, with over 300,000 individuals being accepted into lifetime membership and more than 650 chapters established throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

The DSU chapter of TriBeta remains committed to fostering academic excellence, scientific inquiry, and community engagement, as it continues to uphold the values and traditions of the honor society.

For more information about the College of Arts and Sciences at Delta State University, visit