Skip to main content

DSU Alumni Association Announces Awards

By October 16, 2023Alumni

CLEVELAND, Miss. — The Delta State University Alumni Association has announced its 2023 Alumni Award recipients. Each year, as part of Homecoming festivities, the DSU Alumni Association presents service awards to Delta State alumni who have exhibited exceptional dedication and commitment to the university.

This year’s honorees will be celebrated during the annual Alumni Awards Gala, slated for 6 p.m. on Friday, November 10 in the Kent Wyatt Hall Atrium. During the event, graduates of the Class of 1973 will also be formally inducted into the prestigious Golden Circle in honor of their 50th anniversary.

“We’re so excited to celebrate these deserving alumni during our annual Alumni Awards Gala,” said Corley Mullins, director of Alumni Affairs. “All of our award recipients have proven their love for Delta State by devoting themselves to serving their alma mater. We encourage our Delta State family to join us as we show our appreciation for their efforts.”

The Outstanding Alumnus of the Year award recognizes an alumnus or alumna who has outstanding accomplishments on an international, national, or local basis and exemplifies the mission of Delta State University through his or her personal life, community service and professional accomplishments. The 2023 recipient is Charlie Pleas, III of Germantown, Tenn.

The Alumni Hall of Fame is awarded to alumni who have achieved professional distinction and made significant community service contributions at the local, national and/or international level and who have thus brought honor and distinction to Delta State. The 2023 recipients are Patrick Davis of Cleveland, Arthur Johnston of Madison, Richard Myers, Jr. of Brentwood, Tenn., Carol Tharpe of Grenada and James Walter Wood, Jr. of Madison.

The Kent Wyatt Young Alumnus Service Award seeks to identify, recognize, and award an individual, age 40 or under, who has shown a commitment of service for the university. The 2023 recipient is Wendolyn Stevens of Jackson.

The Hugh Ellis Walker Alumni Service Award recognizes outstanding service and contributions to Delta State University by an alumnus. The 2023 recipient is Thomas Janoush of Cleveland.

The Dr. Henry Outlaw Faculty/Staff Service Award recognizes former DSU faculty or staff members who have had a significant influence in the growth of Delta State University and/or the National Alumni Association. The 2023 recipient is Linda Ross of Cleveland.

Gala tickets are available for purchase at the Hugh Ellis Walker Alumni House or online at

For questions, contact Delta State’s Office of Alumni Affairs at or 662-846-4660.