Skip to main content

DSU Office of Student Life Presents Awards

By April 26, 2023Student Life

CLEVELAND, Miss. — The 2023 Division of Student Affairs Awards at Delta State University were presented in a ceremony April 20 at the Bologna Performing Arts Center. Dr. Eddie Lovin, Vice President for Student Affairs, opened the ceremony, saying, “Tonight, we come together to celebrate the outstanding achievements and contributions of our exceptional students. Author John C. Maxwell once stated, ‘A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.’ Tonight is a celebration of those in our community who know, go, and show us all the way.”

The Emerald Awards were presented first. Assistant Director of Student Life Elizabeth Branton said, “These awards are peer nominated and voted on by the Delta State students, faculty, and staff. The purpose of these awards is to honor the best of the best at Delta State each year. The Office of Student Life looks forward to the opportunity to help recognize the individuals who help make our campus a family.”

Emerald Award winners:

  • Top Administrators – Dr. Vicki Bingham and Dr. Billy Moore
  • Top Directors – Nakikke Wallace and Kirk Mansell
  • Top Faculty – Dr. Lisa Cooley and William Hodnett
  • Top Staff – Holly Haney and Kyle Patridge
  • Top Student Presidents – Lucia Chacon Habis and Michael Tucker
  • Most Spirited – JonMiracle Hall and Davontre Henderson
  • Top Student Leaders – Evelyn Greer and Keshawn Jennings
  • Most Involved Students – Anna Grace Travis and Crawford Adams
  • Top Student Athletes – Hannah Hasle and Patrick Shegog
  • Top International Students – Sophia Pepe and David Cho

Branton and Dr. Lovin then presented the Greek Awards, recognizing the outstanding contributors from the various organizations represented on the DSU campus.

2023 Greek Awards recipients

Greek Awards:

  • NPHC Sorority of the Year: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • NPHC Chapter Scholastic Award: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • NPHC Sorority Scholar of the Year: Tyshawana Love
  • Philanthropy Award: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • NPHC Greek Woman of the Year: Dannika M. Johnson
  • William Ross Story Award for Chapter Excellence: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • Highest Overall Chapter GPA: Sigma Alpha Epsilon
  • 2023 Panhellenic Awards recipients

    Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Program Award: Pi Kappa Alpha

  • Educational Programming Award: Pi Kappa Alpha
  • Community Involvement Award: Pi Kappa Alpha
  • IFC Greek Man of the Year: Michael Tucker
  • Nowell Award for Chapter Excellence: Pi Kappa Alpha
  • Most Improved Chapter GPA: Phi Mu Fraternity
  • Highest Chapter GPA: Phi Mu Fraternity
  • Philanthropy Award: Phi Mu Fraternity
  • Outstanding New Member: Hayden Kirkhart
  • Panhellenic Greek Woman of the Year: Haley Rooks
  • Panhellenic Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year: Anjanette Powers
  • Outstanding Staff Member of the Year: Kirk Mansell
  • The Carol Brumby Model Chapter Award: Phi Mu Fraternity

Dr. Lovin then presented the Bobby Rowe Memorial Award for Outstanding Leadership to Kelly Foster. Bobby Rowe was a former DSU student athlete who passed away tragically at a young age. Dr. Lovin said, “This award is a testament to the importance of leadership in shaping the lives of our students and preparing them to make an impact on the world.”

The next award presented was the Wayne Blansett Outstanding Service Award. Named in honor of long-time DSU administrator Dr. Wayne Blansett, the award is considered the most prestigious one given by the Vice President of Student Affairs. “Dr. Blansett’s legacy at Delta State is immeasurable,” said Dr. Lovin. “He was a tireless advocate for the university, and his unwavering commitment to excellence helped shape many Delta State students into the exceptional alumni they are today.”

The 2023 recipient of the award is Maddie Lavoie. Lavoie is a four-time NSISC Scholar Athlete, multiple record holder in Delta State Swimming, avid volunteer, leader in student government with eight appearances on the President’s List. “Maddie’s dedication and hard work have made a lasting impact on the university and beyond, and it is with great pleasure that we recognize her achievements tonight,” said Dr. Lovin.

Lavoie was also named to the DSU Student Hall of Fame, and Dr. Lovin announced those inductees next. He said, “The Delta State University Student Hall of Fame is a testament to the university’s commitment to fostering a well-rounded education that prepares students to be leaders in their fields and communities. The inductees serve as role models for future generations of Delta State students, inspiring them to reach for excellence and make a positive difference in the world.”

2023 DSU Student Hall of Fame inductees: (L to R)Dr. Eddie Lovin, Brett Burrell, Chris Sehring, Shakira King, Michael Tucker, Haley Rooks, Madison Lavoie, Raychelle Chambers, Hannah Ashley, Dr. E. E. Caston

2023 Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Hannah Ashley
  • Brett Burrell
  • Raychelle Chambers
  • Madison Lavoie
  • Nicole Hollis
  • Shukira King
  • Haley Rooks
  • Christopher Sehring
  • Michael Tucker

Dr. Lovin closed with a quote by John Quincy Adams, saying, “‘If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more, you are a leader.’ May the accomplishments of our award winners inspire us all to strive for excellence and make a positive impact on the world around us.”