Skip to main content

DSU Honors Retiring Employees

By April 24, 2023Faculty/Staff
2023 retirees from Delta State University: (L to R) Dr. Billy Moore, Dr. Melody Fortune, Dr. Beverly Moon, Polly Cameron, Edna Jefferson, Barbara Knight, Dr. Eric Blackwell, Darwaun Hayes, Ann Geiger

CLEVELAND, Miss. — Delta State University honored retiring employees and acknowledged those reaching service milestones with a ceremony and reception Friday, April 21 on the second floor of the H. L. Nowell Union.

DSU Interim President E. E. Caston welcomed the attendees, saying, “This ceremony provides us with an opportunity to pay tribute to those who have devoted their career to our academic community. We honor those who have served Delta State faithfully for many years and exemplify the very best in service to our students, faculty and staff.”

He then introduced Tricia Walker, Director and Professor Emeritus of the Delta Music Institute, who entertained the crowd with two songs. Following the performance, retiring Dean of the College of Business and Aviation Dr. Billy Moore spoke, reflecting on retirement.

He said, “I am humbled to have this opportunity to express my gratitude to those who have contributed so much to my life here at Delta State University. First of all, I am grateful to God, to my wife, Clara, our daughters, Andrea and Alicia, my family, and those I have worked very closely with, my College of Business and Aviation family and the entire Delta State University family.”

Dr. Caston returned to the podium to present the service awards, recognizing DSU employees reaching milestones of 20, 25, 30 and 35 years of service. He then noted those retirees who had earned Emeritus status, before presenting gifts to each retiree. The ceremony adjourned to a reception with music provided by Dr. James Robinson.

Dr. Andy Novobilski, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs said, “It’s possible to be happy and sad at the same time. Happy to see colleagues that you appreciate, respect and enjoy being able to move on to a phase in their life where they get to have a lot more enjoyment in some cases, and it’s sad, because we are going to miss our colleagues.”

Retirees:  Eric Blackwell, Jimmie Blount, Polly Cameron, Melody Fortune, Ann Giger, Darwaun Hayes, Edna Jefferson, Barbara Knight, Beverly Moon, Billy Moore, James Rutledge  

Service Awards

  • 20 years: Benjamin Johnston, Margaret McClain, Cetin Oguz, Charles Smithhart  
  • 25 years: John Alvarez, Karen Bell, Lynn Byrd, Polly Cameron, Leslie Griffin, Melissa Marshall, Christy Riddle  
  • 30 years:  Joseph Bentley, Darwaun Hayes, Mike Kinnison, Helen White  
  • 35 years: Barry Bays  
  • Special Recognition: Robin Acord