Skip to main content

Delta State Art Department’s 2022 Annual Juried Student Exhibition Opening Reception set for March 10

The Department of Art invites the public to the opening of the annual student exhibition Thursday, March 10, from 5-7 p.m. in the Fielding Wright Art Center.

CLEVELAND, Miss.—The Art Department at Delta State University will host an opening reception and awards ceremony for its Annual Juried Student Exhibition on Thursday, March 10, from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in the Wright Art Gallery.

The Annual Juried Student Exhibition allows the department to highlight the work our students have produced in the past year and affords students an opportunity to gain professional experience by preparing work for exhibitions and submitting it to a jury process. Students submitting work are also eligible to win monetary awards in a variety of categories. The awards are made possible through the generous support of art patrons from the Cleveland community.

This year’s juror is Justin Bryant. Bryant is a painter and teaches at the University of Arkansas Pulaski Tech. He received his BFA in Studio Art from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and his MFA in Studio Art from Louisiana State University in 2018.

Bryant was a 2019 Interchange Artist Fellow for the Mid America Arts Alliance and was awarded a summer residency at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. He has had solo exhibitions at the Thea Art Foundation, Little Rock, Ark.; Arkansas State University, Beebe, Ark.;  and Michigan State University, Lansing, Mich.,; and he also participated in numerous group exhibitions. His work was included in the 2019 New American Painting South Issue.

Per tradition, the exhibition will also feature Salon des Refusés in the Holcomb-Norwood Annex which will display a student-curated collection of the artwork that did not make it into the main event.

The department expresses gratitude to the following for their support of DSU students: Dave Alford and Adventure Frames, Vickie Bingham, Maureen and Bucky Brooks, Cleveland State Bank, Travis “Chip” and Janet Cooper, Scott and Cindy Coopwood and Coopwood Communications, Patrick Davis for State Farm, Ron Koehler, Bill Lester, the McCarty family, Kayla and Jeremiah Matthews, Carmen and Cetin Oguz, Lisa B. Percy, Planters Bank of Cleveland, Gunner Sizemore, Dr. and Mrs. Hugh C. Smith, Carol Tatum, as well as DSU’s Dean of the College of Arts and Science, President LaForge, and the President’s Cabinet.

The public is also welcomed to join DSU’s Art Department in celebrating its students’ success on Thursday, March 10, from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Awards will be presented at 6:00 p.m. The Annual Juried Student Exhibition will remain on view from March 10 to April 21, 2022.

The DSU Wright Art Gallery is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday and from 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. on Fridays.

For more information, please contact the Art Department at (662) 846-4720.