Skip to main content

Aylward, Bentley bestowed DSU’s 2021 outstanding staff and faculty awards

By June 15, 2021Faculty/Staff

CLEVELAND, Miss.—Delta State University recently recognized its 2021 outstanding staff and faculty award winners.

The H.L. Nowell Outstanding Support Staff award was presented to Lee Aylward, program associate for education and community outreach for the Delta Center for Culture and Learning at Delta State.

The S.E. Kossman Outstanding Teacher award was presented to Dr. Joseph Bentley, professor of chemistry in the Department of Math and Sciences.

Lee Alyward

The 2021 honorees were presented with a plaque by DSU President William N. LaForge, who said the honorees are both “wonderful representatives of Delta State.”

“Lee has been a wonderful advocate and supporter of Delta State and the Delta Center. We appreciate all that she’s done and wish her well in her retirement,” said LaForge. “We’re very proud of Joe, and we appreciate all he does for Delta State in making our students stay on that path to graduation in their field.”

Aylward, who recently announced her plans to retire, said she’ll always cherish her time at DSU.

“It has been a privilege and an honor to not only promote Delta State, but to also promote this region,” she shared. “I’ve met wonderful people on Delta State’s staff and faculty, and I hope that we’ve been really good ambassadors for Delta State with our workshops. It’s been a wonderful place to work—Delta State and the Delta Center.”

Dr. Joseph Bentley

Bentley said Delta State students are what make the institution so special to him.

“I’ve always really enjoyed teaching Chemistry at Delta State. I have a lot of friends in the faculty, administration and staff, but the students are incredibly special and fun,” he said.

The Administrative Staff Council of Delta State offers the H.L Nowell Outstanding Staff Award to an extraordinary staff member. The winner receives a cash award and a plaque. The names of all recipients are displayed in the H.L. Nowell Union.

Delta State recognizes exceptional performances by professors through the annual selection of an outstanding faculty member. The S.E. Kossman Outstanding Faculty Award honors the memory of a prominent Cleveland business and civic leader who supported DSU. The names of all Kossman Award recipients are displayed in Kethley Hall.