Skip to main content

Four DSU Pianists Earn Honors at the MMTA State Collegiate Competitions

Four DSU pianists earned honors at the Mississippi Music Teachers Association (MMTA) State Collegiate Competitions held at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg on Feb. 29, 2020.

    • Cameron Sullivan, freshman piano performance major from Ama, LA: first place in the freshman/sophomore solo piano division
    • Yeim Kim, junior piano performance major from Seoul, South Korea: first place in the junior/senior solo piano division
    • Sung-Eun Ryu, senior piano performance major from Hwaseong, South Korea: second place in the division
    • Joseph Campbell, senior piano major from Wesson, MS: honorable mention in the division

Sullivan, Kim, and Ryu  are pursuing a bachelor of music degree, and Campbell is pursuing a bachelor of arts degree.

Ryu is a student of Department Chair Dr. Karen Fosheim; Campbell, Kim, and Sullivan are students of Dr. Jung-Won Shin, associate professor of music.