Skip to main content

Delta State University National Alumni Association Announces 2019 Alumni Award Winners

By November 4, 2019Alumni, Foundation

The Delta State University National Alumni Association announces the 2019 alumni award recipients who will be honored during the 87th Delta State University Homecoming weekend. The award winners will be recognized on Friday, Nov. 8 in the State Room located inside H.L. Nowell Student Union.

The Alumni Association will recognize the Outstanding Alumnus of the Year, the Alumni Hall of Fame inductees, and the Service Awards winners.

The Outstanding Alumnus of the Year is presented to a graduate who has made significant contributions to human or institutional programs in which a situation, an institution, or a movement has been materially changed for the better due to that individual’s personal participation. This year’s recipient is Dr. Tyrone Jackson ’94, ’98, ’05 of Moorhead.

Induction into the Delta State University Alumni Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon an individual by the DSU Alumni Association. The Alumni Hall of Fame is extended to alumni and friends who have achieved professional distinction and made significant community service contributions at the local, national, and/or international level and who have thus brought honor and distinction to Delta State. This year, three distinguished alumni, along with Jackson, will be inducted into the hall of fame: Will Bradham ’01 of Cleveland, Dr. Laura Haddock ’91 of Germantown, Tenn., and Dr. James Robinson ’66 of Cleveland.

The Hugh Ellis Walker Alumni Service Award recognizes outstanding service and contributions to Delta State by an alumnus. Renee Selby Deweese ’92 of Madison will receive the award this year.

The Kent Wyatt “Young Alumnus” Service Award recognizes outstanding service and contributions to Delta State by a graduate 36 years old or younger. The 2019 recipient is Jessica Johnson ’05, of Memphis, Tenn.

The Gladys Castle “Friend” of Delta State Service Award recognizes outstanding service and contributions to Delta State by a non-alumnus or institution. This year’s winner is Dr. Fred Pittman, of Sullivan’s Island, S.C.

The Legacy Award is presented to an alumnus or Delta State affiliated organization who made an institutional changing impact at the university. This year, Sam G. (Sammy) Britt of Cleveland will receive this award.

The Dr. Henry Outlaw Faculty/Staff Service Award was established as a way to recognize former Delta State faculty or staff members who have had a significant influence in the life of the university and/or the National Alumni Association. Established by the National Alumni Association Board of Directors, and inspired by the Dedicated Statesmen Association, the award will be given this year to Dave Heflin ’62 of Louin.

To purchase gala tickets, visit

To view past award winners, visit

For a full schedule of the 2019 Homecoming festivities, visit