Skip to main content

Four More DSU Students Accepted into Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program

Left to right: chemistry major Tyler Daniels ’19; Dr. James Gerald, director of the Honors Program; Dr. Ellen Green, chair of the Division of Mathematics and Sciences; and biology major Emilee Ann Boldon ’19 attend the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program ceremony at the Old Capitol Museum in Jackson on July 16, 2019.

Four more Delta State University students are benefitting from the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program (MRPSP).

Biology major Emilee Ann Boldon ’19 and chemistry major Tyler Daniels ’19 each received state-funded scholarships of $30,000 a year for four years. Both will begin medical school at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine this fall.

Junior biology pre-medical science major Katie Plum and junior chemistry pre-medical science major Sydney Franks were selected for the undergraduate portion.

Katie Plum (left) and Sydney Franks at the event.

Created in 2007, MRPSP identifies college sophomores and juniors who demonstrate the necessary commitment and academic achievement to become rural primary care physicians in Mississippi. The program offers undergraduate academic enrichment and a clinical experience in a rural setting. Upon completion of all medical school admissions requirements, the student can be admitted to the University of Mississippi School of Medicine or William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine. Consistent legislative support of MRPSP translates to 61 medical students receiving a total of $1,830,000 to support their education this fall. Additional benefits include personalized mentoring from practicing rural physicians and academic support.

Upon completion of medical training, MRPSP Scholars must enter a residency program in one of five primary care specialties: family medicine, general internal medicine, medicine-pediatrics, obstetrics/gynecology, or pediatrics. The MRPSP Scholar must provide four years of service in a clinic-based practice in an approved Mississippi community of 15,000 or fewer population located more than 20 miles from a medically served area.

The MRPSP provides a means for rural Mississippi students to earn a seat in medical school, receive MCAT preparation, earn a $120,000 medical school scholarship in return for four years of service, and learn the art of healing from practicing rural physicians.

Eleven Delta State students—whether current students or graduates now in medical school or in residency or serving as practicing physicians—have been selected for the extremely competitive award since the program began.