Skip to main content

Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area Held Three Free Regional Grant-Writing Workshops

Representatives from area organizations attend a Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area pre-application grant workshop in Vicksburg.

The Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area (MDNHA) held three free regional grant-writing workshops recently to benefit prospective applicants for its FY2019 grant cycle. Workshops were held at the Gale Community Center in Hernando (DeSoto County); the Capps Center in Indianola (Sunflower County); and the Mississippi State University Extension Center in Vicksburg (Warren County).
Attendees received information about MDNHA themes and goals, how to prepare and submit grant applications, and the application review and award process. Representatives from Mississippi Humanities Council and Mississippi Commission for Volunteer Services also made presentations about funding and programming resources that can complement MDNHA grant funds, if awarded.

MDNHA grant program application materials and instructions are available at Applications must be received by Jan. 30, 2019. Questions regarding the grants program should be directed to

This is the fourth year that MDNHA has offered grant-writing workshops for its cultural heritage development grant program. The workshops attracted attendees from various Mississippi Delta communities including Clarksdale, Cleveland, Itta Bena, Lyon, Mound Bayou, Olive Branch, Rolling Fork, Senatobia, Shaw, Southaven, and Tutwiler. A number of attendees representing organizations outside the Mississippi Delta also traveled to the workshops from Atlanta, GA; Covington, LA; Jackson, MS; Jonesboro, AR; Memphis, TN; and Oxford, MS. The vast majority were first-time attendees.

To stay updated on MDNHA programs and activities, including the grants program, follow the MDNHA Facebook page at

MDNHA is a cultural heritage partnership between the people of the Mississippi Delta and the National Park Service. It includes 18 counties that contain land located in the alluvial floodplain of the Mississippi Delta: Bolivar, Carroll, Coahoma, DeSoto, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Leflore, Panola, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica, Warren, Washington and Yazoo. MDNHA was designated by U.S. Congress in 2009 and is governed by a board of directors representing agencies and organizations defined in the congressional legislation. More information about the MDNHA, including the complete approved management plan, is available at The Delta Center for Culture and Learning at Delta State serves as the management entity of the MDNHA