Skip to main content

McNair Research Scholars Program holds reception

By September 7, 2018Faculty/Staff, General

The McNair Research Scholars Program at Delta State University held a reception in the Baioni Conference Center on Aug. 29 to introduce the 2018-19 scholars and to give summer research experience participants the opportunity to present five-minute oral presentations about their successes.

The McNair Research Scholars program encourages and prepares low-income, first-generation, and minority students for doctoral study and careers in research. The initiative addresses social, cultural, and academic barriers in higher education; offers individually focused and intensive programming geared toward navigating graduate and professional school admissions, and presents academic tutoring, personal counseling, mentoring, financial guidance, and other support to advance college access, retention, and graduation. The program also provides research opportunities and faculty mentoring during the summer.

The Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program was established in memory of astronaut-physicist and Challenger crew member Ronald E. McNair. The program is administered through Delta State’s Office of Graduate & Continuing Studies. McNair is one of eight TRIO programs funded by the U.S. Department of Education.

McNair Research Scholars are as follows:

First row: Syed Mohammed Amanuddin, Johvan Hill-Dick, Kevin Sodachanh, Dakota Conway, William Neal. Second row: Stephanie Davis, Zaria Nolan, Khyla Grant, Bria Goodson, KaShyla Brooks, Alexis Austin, Jakayla Washington, Abigail Hynum, Demicia Diew, Stevena King. Third row: Hertayshia Thomas, Nicholas Walters, J’Maricus Myers, Porsche Chambers, Sher’Creshia Cannon, Laketha Covington, Joelle Dick, Quincy Hughes, Ashley Griffin.
Not pictured: Bobby Foster and Audrey Gonzalez.