Skip to main content

Residence hall dedication

By June 5, 2015Archives and Museum
President Emeritus Kent Wyatt, Willard Bond, III, Donna Bond, Tom Farley, Barbara Farley, and President William LaForge are pictured in front of the plaque in Foundation Hall.

Delta State held a commemorative dedication of Bond-Carpenter Hall and Whittington-Williams Hall this week in the Foundation Hall lobby. A plaque was installed to recognize the namesakes of those buildings that were razed to prepare for the new hall.

The individuals whose names were on the buildings are: William Faroe Bond, member of the first Board of Trustees of Delta State; Harry Gordon Carpenter, member of the constitutional Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning for the State of Mississippi; William Madison Whittington, State Senator and Congressman; and Wirt Alfred Williams, professor of History and head of the Department of Social Sciences at Delta State.

Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Wayne Blansett welcomed the campus and community. University Archivist Emily Jones provided a history of the halls, and Director of Career Services Davlon Miller shared memories of his experience as resident director in the buildings.

President William N. LaForge delivered the dedication of the plaque and shared memories with the family in attendance.

“Delta State strives to foster a strong family atmosphere and therefore it is important to the history and culture of our university to create a lasting memory for Bond-Carpenter Hall and Whittington-Williams Hall,” said LaForge.

Bond-Carpenter Hall was constructed in 1966, and Whittington-Williams Hall was built in 1960. Residents first lived in Foundation Hall in fall 2010.

For more information on University Archives, visit or email or call 662-846-4780.