Skip to main content

Delta State awards diversity champion

Clark received prestigious Diversity Award this spring.

During the spring, the Diversity Committee awarded the inaugural Diversity Champion Award to Georgene Clark, retired assistant professor of English.

The diversity award was established to recognize individuals and divisions/departments that have made extraordinary efforts over the past three years to promote diversity awareness at Delta State and the wider community.

Clark met the following criteria for the award: innovative teaching/educational programming or activities designed to engender diversity within the classroom and/or curriculum at Delta State, documented record of committee work/community involvement or outreach to the local community by a campus organization or department or division, and active leader in promoting cultural diversity at Delta State.

Arlene Sanders, instructor in Political Science and chair of the Diversity Committee, presented the award to Clark during Delta State’s Winning The Race conference in the Bologna Performing Arts Center.

“The Diversity Champion Award supports the mission of the Diversity Committee by recognizing those who are committed to creating and maintaining an inclusive academic community that fosters productive intellectual exchange while bridging gaps in the differences in the human experience,” said Sanders.

Conference co-chair and Associate Vice President for Finance and Administration, Dr. Myrtis Tabb, has worked alongside Clark for many years and recognized the significance of this award.

“It is a well-deserved recognition for Professor Clark to be given the first Delta State University Diversity Champion Award,” said Tabb. “However, an even greater honor was bestowed on her by naming the award for her. Every recipient in the pursuing years will be bestowed the Georgene Clark Diversity Champion Award. What a great honor for Professor Clark to acknowledge her leadership and commitment to Delta State University diversity work.”

For more information on the Diversity Committee, please visit To view more details about this year’s Winning The Race conference, visit