Skip to main content

Search committee named for Dean of College of Arts and Sciences

Delta State University President William N. LaForge announced Monday the composition of the search committee for the position of Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

“I extend a special word of appreciation to all faculty and staff who indicated a willingness to serve on the committee,” said LaForge. “I believe that the members of the committee will ensure fair and proportionate representation across the College of Arts and Sciences. I am grateful to each of these members for agreeing to serve in this important capacity.”

Members of the search committee include: E. E. “Butch” Caston, chair; Kim Rushing (Art); Ellen Green (Biological/Physical Sciences); Chuck Smithhart (Biological/Physical Sciences); Tricia Walker (Delta Music Institute); Yongqin Zhang (Geospatial Information Technology); Georgene Clark (Languages/Literature); Don Allan Mitchell (Faculty Senate); Rose Strahan (Retired, Dedicated Statesmen Association, Mathematics); Bret Pimentel (Music); Mark Butler (Music); Cora Jackson (Social Work); Ethan Schmidt (Social Sciences/History); Paulette Meikle-Yaw (Social Sciences/History); Jeff Slagell (Library); and Myrtis Tabb (Ex Officio, Human Resources).

The committee will review applications and deliberate during December and January. After the on-campus interviews, planned for mid-to-late January, the committee will recommend to the Provost up to three candidates, unranked, including the highlights of positives and areas of concern of each candidate.

The Provost will select the new dean from the pool of top candidates.