Skip to main content

Dr. Charles McAdams selected as new Delta State Provost

By September 5, 2013Academics
Charles McAdams will serve as the new Provost and Vice President for Academic AffairsCharles McAdams will serve as the new Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Delta State University’s search for a new Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs has come to an end. Dr. Charles McAdams of Northwest Missouri State University has accepted the position.

McAdams most recently served as the dean of NMSU’s College of Arts & Sciences since 2004. Other positions have included professor of music and chair of the department of music at the University of Central Missouri. He has also held leadership positions in various professional organizations including vice president of the Missouri Association of Departments and Schools of Music, 2002-2004, vice president of the College-University Division of the Missouri Music Educators Association, 1998-2000, and state chair for the Missouri Chapter of the Society for Music Teacher Education.

President William N. LaForge said, “He has the ideal blend of academic and leadership experience, and his university career to date has largely been with institutions similar to Delta State in many ways. He will be able to ‘hit the ground running’.”

“Dr. McAdams will bring to Delta State a wealth of experience in higher education, a strong commitment to academics and our faculty, and a vision of excellence that will fit perfectly with this university’s mission for the next several years.”

He is the author of one book, contributed chapters to three others and has published over 25 articles and reviews.

McAdams received his doctoral and master’s degrees in music education from the University of Illinois and bachelor’s degree from Tennessee Technological University.

“As Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Dr. McAdams will be a champion of academic excellence, an advocate for diversity and for increasing international experiences on our campus, and a transparent and collaborative leader of our academy,” said LaForge.

A selection committee was formed in May to guide the national search for a successor to Dr. Ann C. Lotven, who served in the role since 2007.

The committee was composed of 10 faculty representatives, two academic council representatives, one staff council representative and one student government representative. Dr. Ellen Green, out-going president of the Faculty Senate and associate professor of biology, chaired the committee.

Along with Green, the following made up the committee: Leslie Fadiga-Stewart, assistant professor of political science; Michael Smith, assistant professor of English; John Tiftickjian, professor of biology; Charles Westmoreland, assistant professor of history; Gokhan Karahan, assistant professor of economics; Becky Hochradel, chair of the Division of Management, Marketing and Business Administration; Joe Garrison, chair of Teacher Education; Temika Simmons, assistant professor of psychology; Catherine Hayes, associate professor of nursing; Beverly Moon, dean of Graduate and Continuing Studies and Research; Suzanne Simpson, registrar and director of Institutional Research; Robin Boyles, director of Institutional Grants; and Sydney Hodnett, Student Government Association president.

Candidate applications were reviewed May through July, and the leading candidates were invited to campus last week to hold visits with faculty, staff and students.

“I was fortunate to have had the pleasure to work with an outstanding committee who took our charge seriously and worked diligently through the summer,” said Green. “On behalf of the committee, I want to welcome Dr. McAdams to Delta State as our new Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs. We look forward to a long and successful relationship.”

LaForge said, “I look forward to Dr. McAdams joining our leadership team at Delta State. During his interviews and meetings with our faculty, staff and students, he demonstrated why he is the best candidate for Delta State. He will be a stellar addition to our administration.”