Skip to main content

Delta State University outstanding staff and faculty awards announced

By July 23, 2010General

Betsy Bobo Elliott (at left), director of community college relations at Delta State, was presented the H.L. Nowell Outstanding Staff Award, and, Dorothy Shawhan, chair of Languages and Literature and professor of English at Delta State University, was presented the S.E. Kossman Outstanding Faculty Award during the 79th Spring Commencement at Delta State University, Saturday, May 13, inside Walter Sillers Coliseum on the campus.

The Administrative Staff Council of Delta State offers the award to an extraordinary staff member. Elliott, as the 13th annual H.L. Nowell Outstanding Staff Award winner, will receive a cash award and a plaque. The names of all recipients are displayed in the H.L. Nowell Union.

Delta State recognizes exceptional performances by professors through the annual selection of one outstanding faculty member. The S.E. Kossman Outstanding Teacher Award honors the memory of a prominent Cleveland business and civic leader who supported Delta State University. Shawhan, as the 24th winner, will receive a cash award, a commemorative medallion and a personal plaque. The names of all Kossman Award recipients are displayed in Kethley Hall.