Skip to main content

Delta State University announces B.F. Smith Scholars

By July 23, 2010General

The B.F. Smith Scholars Program focuses on increasing the presence of community and economic development professionals in the Mississippi Delta region. It consists of graduate assistantships for students and support for faculty and students pursuing special coursework, seminars, lectures, travel, research in the field of business development and internships related to economic development and public service.


The two Delta State University students selected are: Paul Barnhard (second from left), of Clarksdale, who will be working with Robert Ingram, Executive Director of the Greenwood-Leflore Industrial Board, and Veronika Federoutchenko (fourth from left), of Chelyabinsk, Russia, who will be interning with the Center for Interdisciplinary Geospatial Information Technologies and the Mississippi Delta Technology Council.


Pictured are (from left): Dr. Myrtis Tabb, Senior Administrator Special Projects, Delta State University; Barnhard, Dr. John M. Hilpert, President, Delta State University; Federoutchenko, and Mr. Chip Morgan, Executive Vice President, Delta Council.


The B.F. Smith scholars were announced during the Second Annual Community Recognition Luncheon held recently in the State Room of the H.L. Nowell Union on the Delta State campus. The luncheon was recognized an official “Year of Cleveland” event.