Skip to main content

Delta State to honor area leaders at 5th Annual Community Recognition Luncheon

By November 10, 2008General

Delta State University will recognize area leaders this coming Thursday, Nov. 13, as part of its annual Community Recognition Awards. 

The luncheon is part of the University’s year-long celebration of “The Year of Partnerships,” and will give recognition to some of the important partnerships that support the University.  This year, the “Cleveland Partners”  include the DSU Foundation, which supports the University through outreach and fundraising, Billy Joe McCain Jr., who has directed the Bolivar County Community Action Agency for several decades, and Willard Samuels, who has served as an Alderman in Cleveland since 1972.
Also recognized will be the “Delta Regional Champions:” 
  • The Bolivar County Legislative Delegation comprised of Senators Buck Clark, Willie Simmons, Johnnie Walls and Representatives Linda Coleman and David Norquist
  • The Coahoma County Higher Education Center represented by Clarksdale Mayor Henry Espy, Jon Levingston, Dr. Vivian Presley, and Paul Pearson
  • Bryce Griffis of Starkville
  • Neal Holcomb of Rolling Fork
  • The Kellogg Foundation/ Mid South Delta Initiative represented by Gloria Dickerson of Jackson
  • Malcolm Kuykendall, Superintendent of Education, Tishomingo County
  • Milton Kuykendall, Superintendent of Education, Desoto County
  • The Mississippi Commission for Volunteer Service represented by Marsha Meek-Kelly, of Jackson
  • Carol Puckett of Viking Hospitality Group of Greenwood
  • Dr. and Mrs. Bob Ferguson of the Tri State Educational Foundation in Iuka
The Delta State University College of Business will also recognize the Business Person of the Year, Jimmy L. Williams of Cleveland.
For more information about the Year of Partnerships, please contact the Delta Center for Culture and Learning at (662) 846-4311.