Academic Calendar

August 1 Date by which new students should apply for admission for fall semester
August 20, Sunday, 1:00 p.m. Residence halls open
August 21 Day and night classes begin; registration continues
August 22 Late registration starts; fees assessed
August 29 Registration closes for fall semester
September 1 Last day a course may be changed from credit/audit
September 4 Labor Day Holiday
September 4, 6:00 p.m. Classes resume
September 5 Grades of W or F in effect
September 12 Writing Proficiency Examination
October 16 Mid-semester
October 17, 12:00 noon D and F reports recorded by faculty
November 6 Early spring semester registration begins
November 10 Fall 2017 graduation application deadline
November 20 – November 24 Thanksgiving Holidays (No classes)
November 27, 8:00 a.m Classes resume
December 1 Last day to withdraw from a course
December 4 – 8 Fall examinations
December 9 Fall commencement
December 11, 12:00 noon All grades recorded by faculty
December 11, 2017 – January 11, 2018 INTERSESSION
December 19, 2017 Date by which new students should apply for admission for spring semester
January 7, Sunday, 1:00 p.m. Residence halls open
January 8 Day and night classes begin; registration continues
January 9 Late registration starts; fees assessed
January 15 Martin Luther King Holiday
January 17 Registration closes for spring semester
January 22 Last day a course may be changed from credit/audit
January 23 Grades of W or F in effect
January 30 Writing Proficiency Examination
March 5 Mid-semester
March 6 D and F reports recorded by faculty
March 12-16 Spring Holidays
March 19, 8:00 a.m. Classes resume
March 29, 5:00 p.m. – March 30 Easter Holiday
April 2, 8:00 a.m. Classes resume
April 2 Early summer and fall registration begins
April 6 Spring 2018 graduation application deadline
April 27 Last day to withdraw from a course
April 30 – May 4 Final Examinations
May 5, 10:00 a.m Spring Commencement
May 7, 12:00 noon All grades recorded by faculty
May 7 – June 7, 2018 INTERSESSION
FIRST TERM
May 27, Sunday, 2:00 p.m Residence halls open
May 28, Monday Memorial Day
May 29, Tuesday Classes begin; Registration continues
May 30, Wednesday Registration closes
May 31, Thursday Last day a course may be changed from credit/audit
June 4, Monday Grades of W or F in effect
June 27, Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a course
June 28, Thursday Final Examinations
July 2, Monday, 8:00 a.m. All Grades Recorded by Faculty
SECOND TERM
July 1, Sunday, 2:00 p.m. Residence halls open
July 2, Monday Classes begin/Registration continues
July 3, Tuesday Registration closes
July 4, Wednesday Fourth of July Holiday
July 5, Thursday Last day a course may be changed from credit/audit
July 9, Monday Grades of W or F in effect
August 1, Wednesday Last day to withdraw from a course
August 2, Thursday Final Examinations
August 6, Monday, 8:00 a.m All grades recorded by faculty