Honorees receive first and second diplomas

By May 23, 2014Students
2014 spring commence-176

Three graduates were honored with First Diploma recognition during Delta State University’s spring commencement on May 10 inside Walter Sillers Coliseum.

The First Diploma is presented to the four-year graduating senior(s) with the highest grade point average on a minimum of 112 hours of academic credit at Delta State. The tradition started at the first commencement in 1928.

This year’s winners are: Justin Badon, biology-pre-med (Summit, Miss.); Briana Davey, elementary education (Cleveland, Miss.);  and Kristen Williams, psychology (Cleveland, Miss).

The Second Diploma, officially known as the Doyce Stallings Mitchell Diploma, is presented to the transfer student(s) with the highest grade point average with a minimum of 62 hours of academic credit at Delta State.

The award is named after the late Doyce Stallings Mitchell, a Delta State alumna and career educator. Delta State announced the naming of the award  in 2012.

This year’s winners are: Robert Barnes, biology-premed (Coldwater, Miss); Elizabeth Culberson, speech and hearing (Brandon, Miss.); Steven Fulgham, environmental science (Cleveland, Miss.); and Benjamin Lambert, biology-premed (Como, Miss.).

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on TumblrShare on LinkedIn