Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area Plans its Future

By March 5, 2013General


Photo:  The Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area Board, with others who participated in the recent meeting.  Front row from the left:  Kim Terrell (representing Tunica, Tate, Desoto and Panola Counties), Mary Margaret Miller (MS Arts Commission), Barbara Carpenter (MS Humanities Council), Spencer Nash (Delta Foundation), John Hilpert (Governor’s appointee and Chairman) Luther Brown (Manager), Bernard Cotton (Alcorn State), Myrtis Tabb (Delta State).  Back row, from the left:  Kappi Allen (Bolivar, Coahoma, Quitman, and Tallahatchie Counties), Jerry Hafter (legal advisor), Frank Howell (Delta Council), Paula Sykes (Washington, Sunflower and Issaquena counties), Kane Ditto (MS Archives and History), K. Lynn Berry (National Heritage Area Program Director, National Park Service), Carolyn Brackett (National Trust for Historic Preservation), Nancy Morgan (Point Heritage Development consulting), Joe McGill (National Trust for Historic Preservation), Augie Carlino (Steel Industry Heritage Corporation and Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area).  Not pictured are Robert Moore (Holmes, Humphreys, Leflore and Carroll Counties), Shirley Waring (Warren, Yazoo, and Sharkey Counties).

The Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area moved closer to full authorization with two recent public meetings and a series of planning committee meetings, followed by a session with the governing board.  

Thirty people attended a community meeting in the Museum of the Mississippi Delta in Greenwood, and twenty-five attended another meeting in the Landers Center in Southaven.  Later, three planning committee meetings attracted thirty-five participants to the Delta State University campus.  All of the meetings discussed and evaluated a set of alternative scenarios for the future of the Heritage Area, and all reached consensus that the best future would involve a mix of educational efforts, historic preservation, interpretation and promotion of the Delta’s heritage.  The results of the meetings were considered by the governing board, which agreed with the consensus.  The discussions have helped determine the content of the formal management plan that is required by the National Park Service before the Heritage Area can become fully authorized.

The Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area was created with support from Congressman Bennie Thompson and Senators Thad Cochran and Roger Wicker in 2009 when the Omnibus Federal Lands Management Act was signed into law by President Obama.  It is currently engaged in the mandatory Management Planning Process, which will end in December, 2013.  The Heritage Area links the entire Delta with the National Park Service and will draw the World’s attention to the rich cultural heritage of the Mississippi Delta.  For more information about the alternative scenarios and information on the Heritage Area, visit www.msdeltaheritage.com or contact the Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area at 662-846-4311.


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on TumblrShare on LinkedIn