Administrative Staff Council Meeting Minutes August 5, 2009

Members Present: Christy Montesi, Dana George, Jeff Slagell, Becky Foster, Lisa Giger, Dianne Schattner, Suzanne Simpson, Paula Laws (Ann Margaret Mullins), Chief Buford, Sam Washington, Beverly Lindsey, Liza Vaughn, Emily Erwin, Heather Walker (Debbie Heslep), Beverly Fratesi, Teresa Houston, John Elliott

I. Call to Order/Welcome

• Chair, Beverly Lindsey called to order the meeting of the Administrative Staff Council 8:45am in the Simmons Room.

II. Approval of Minutes

• Minutes from the July meeting were distributed by e-mail. Sam Washington made a motion to approve the minutes. Lynn Buford seconded. The motion was approved unanimously by the membership.

III. Officer's Reports

CHAIR

Beverly Lindsey had no report.

CHAIR-ELECT

Christy Montesi passed out forms to members of staff council to select their preference for volunteering for a staff council committee.

SECRETARY

No report.

PAST CHAIR

Emily Erwin had no report.

OMBUDSMAN

No report.

IV. Committee Reports

INCENTIVES AND RECOGNITION: Bert Herbison, Chair

- The Smile on You was awarded to Mary Robbins
- The Employee of the Month was awarded to Margie Gladden
- The next Birthday Party will be August 11, 2009 at 9:30 am., Union, Second Floor

PROJECTS: Dana George and Gerald Jordan, Co-chairs

• No Report

SALARIES AND BENEFITS

• No report.

STAFF DEVELOPMENT: Christy Montesi and Jeffrey Farris, Co-chairs

• Staff Textbook awards will be offered again this year but the awards have been reduced from \$100.00 to five awards at \$50.00.

V. Faculty Senate Report

• Eckward Mcknight—no report

VI. Old Business

UNIVERSITY BUDGET COMMITTEE

• No report.

STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE

• No report.

STAFF LUNCH

• No report.

VII. New Business

• The chair elect is Dana George and secretary is Suzanne Simpson for the 2009-2010 Academic Year.

AT LARGE MEMBERS VOTE

Members voted on at large members and the results are as follows:

• Professional/Non-Faculty

Gerald Jordan

Beverly Lindsey

• Secretarial/Clerical

Christie Ayers

Bert Herbison

Skilled Craft

James Marquis

• Technical/Paraprofessional

Dianne Schattner

Service/Maintenance

Mose Bailey

Linda Smith

Rosetta Scott

• Grant Funded

Chiquikta Fountain

CONVOCATION

- Volunteers are needed in the BPAC and in the Union for the Welcome Back Session August 13, 2009
- New employees since August of 2009 will be recognized

VIII. Announcements

• Next Staff Council Meeting: 2 September, Simmons Room, Alumni

IX. Adjournment

• The meeting was adjourned at 9:30am