Administrative Staff Council Meeting Minutes February 7, 2018

Members Present: (19 Members Present)

Rebecca Arant, Lee Aylward, Matthew Bishop, Janet Horne (Jeff Slagell), Richard Houston, Julie Jackson, Nakikke Johnson, Emily Jones, Tricia Killebrew, Rhonda Loper, Michael McDonald, Diana McDowell, Hayley Murrell, Mary Ruth Phillips, Marilyn Read, Christy Riddle, Amanda Robinson, Christie Rocconi, Mary Helen Varner,

Members Absent: (27 Members absent)

Laura Abraham, Jeff Barkman, Cecil Barnett, Jeff Borganelli, Craig Clemons, Claire Cole, Chip Cooper, Deborah Cox, Edwin Craft, Emily Dabney, Kelvin Davis, Leigh Emerson, Jennifer Farish, Amber Foster, Dana George, Lisa Giger, Tina Gladden, David Hebert, Jeff Johns, Matt Jones, Paula Lindsey, Michael Lipford, Heather Miller, Jeff Slagell, Tarnisha Smith, David Tanner, Layla Young

I. Call to order/Welcome

• Chair, Christie Rocconi, officially called to order the meeting of the Administrative Staff Council at 8:36 a.m. in the Simmons Room of the Alumni House. Nakikke Johnson was introduced as the new delegate for Career Services.

II. Approval of Minutes

 Minutes from January 2018 meeting were distributed via email. Marilyn Read made a motion to approve the minutes and Mary Helen Varner seconded it. The minutes were approved unanimously by the membership.

III. Officer's Reports

- Chair: Christie Rocconi Christie updated the membership on how the bylaws outline filling the executive positions. She shared that the Center for Teaching and Learning received a large donation from the Ford Foundation. She shared the news about the merging of the mathematics, biological and physical sciences departments, with one chair, and two coordinators. The construction projects are still on track and Zeigel should be completed by March and the Cafeteria by July. Kent Wyatt Hall is scheduled for window replacements, but the weather controls when that can happen.
- Chair-Elect: TBA
- Past Chair: Marilyn Read No report.
- Executive Secretary/Treasurer: Julie Jackson
 - o DSU Fund Balances per Banner (as of 01.03.18):

Fund 10 \$2500.00
 Projects \$1,142.45
 Staff Development \$3,685.96

Foundation balances per Deborah Cox:

Staff Appreciation \$652.40
 Staff Development \$91.97
 Projects \$1107.18

- Public/University Relations Coordinator: Jennifer Farish Absent.
- Ombudsman: Jeff Slagell Absent.

IV. Committee Reports:

- Incentives and Recognition: Emily Jones Emily reported that the Smile on You for February is Debbie Heslep (Admissions), and January's Employee of the Month is Abbie Atwill (Foundation). The Annual EoM Luncheon went really well and it was great to celebrate Dr. Robinson's birthday with him.
- Projects: Rhonda Loper No report.
- Salaries & Benefits: Deborah Cox Absent, but Christie reported that the Textbook Loan Winners were Aja Buckhalter, C. Chapman, Cade Holder and A. Ramsey.
- Staff Development: TBA Emily Dabney is stepping down from this role and from Staff Council due to
 her new responsibilities as the Registrar. We need to fill this position ASAP as Staff Development Day
 looms in the near future.

V. Faculty Senate & SGA Reports:

- Faculty Senate: David Hebert Absent.
- Student Government Association: Layla Young Absent.

VI. Old Business:

A Special Election of Chair Elect was held and Christy Riddle was selected.

VII. New Business:

Christie shared the new policies that were recently approved by Cabinet. The policies are Pet Policy, Revised Termination/Dismissal Policy and the Revised Work Performance & Code of Conduct Policy. We also asked for any feedback from the membership about ways DSU can give back to the employees in lieu of raises.

VIII. Announcements:

Next meeting March 7, 2018 at 8:30 a.m. in the Simmons Room, Walker Alumni House.

IX. Adjournment: 10:00 a.m.