

 Faculty
 Senate

 4/12/18
 •
 Minutes

 4:45 PM
 •
 Union 302A

Minutes for this meeting recorded and prepared by 2017-2018 Secretary Judith Coleman

Members attending: Vicki Webster, Gwen Meador, Cetin Oguz, Severine Groh, Karen Bell, Brett Oleis, Mary Bess Pannel, Charles Abraham, Ensley Howell, Arlene Sanders, Andrew Wegmann, Todd Davis, Maia Elgin-Wegmann, Michael Mounce, Kristina Claunch, Zinaida Taran, Conrad Puozaa, Shelley Collins, Shara Bledsoe, Lacey Blessitt, Adam Johanson, Julie Lowery, David Hebert, George Beals, Judith Coleman.

## 01) Meeting called to order @ 4:46 pm by President George Beals

**02)** President Beals called on all senators to introduce themselves; they did so.

## 03) New Business

- 1. Members of the 2018-2019 Senate unanimously elected Cetin Oguz as the new President-elect.
- 2. Shara Bledsoe was unanimously elected as 2018-2019 Secretary.
- 3. Motions were made to move the May Faculty Senate Executive Council meeting to April 26 and the Senate meeting to May 3 to account for senators leaving for the summer following finals week; both motions were seconded and passed unanimously.
- 4. A motion to suspend summer meetings of Faculty Senate was put forward, seconded, and passed unanimously.
- 5. President Beals concluded the meeting with remarks about the need for faculty across all divisions to work together. He mentioned that the Provost has requested a University-wide curriculum committee

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned @ 4:56pm.

**Next meetings** Executive Committee Meeting Date: May Senate Meeting Date:

3:30 PM – Thursday, April 26, 2018 – 306B Union 3:30 PM – Thursday, May 3, 2018 – 302A Union