Administrative Structure

This policy outlines the administrative organizational structure at Delta State University.



As directed in IHL Policy, “each institution of higher learning shall be under the management and control of an Institutional Executive Officer.” The institutional executive officer at Delta State University is the president, who reports to the Commissioner of Higher Education, who in turn reports to the Board. The president manages and controls the operations of the University by way of an institutional administrative structure of vice presidents or other administrators with university-wide responsibilities. Those administrators oversee all units under their purview and report directly to the President.

The following administrative bodies are empowered to develop and approve policies, processes, or regulations required for the operation of Delta State University:


The Cabinet is chaired by the University President, who is responsible for setting the meeting agenda. The Cabinet oversees operations of the entire campus and establishes the mission, vision, and strategic goals and directions of the university. The Cabinet approves policy as recommended by its members or the Academic Council; deliberates on issues that affect student life, the operations of the campus, and the long-term sustainability of the university; and provides advice and counsel to the President. Cabinet members are appointed by the President; current members include all Vice Presidents, the Associate Vice President of Finance and Administration, the Athletic Director, the Dean of Enrollment Management, the Executive Director of Alumni/Foundation, an Academic Council representative, the Faculty Senate President, the Staff Council Chair, and the Student Government Association President.

Academic Council:

Academic Council is chaired by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs, who is responsible for setting the meeting agenda. Academic Council reviews and acts on all relevant academic matters and provides advice and counsel to the Provost. Academic Council members are appointed by the Provost; current members include all Academic Deans, the Registrar, the Executive Director of the Student Success Center, the Dean of Enrollment Management, the Faculty Senate President, and the Chief Information Officer.

The Responsible Office and/or the Policy Owner:  President’s Office



  • IHL Policies 201.0505, 301.0801 A
  • DSU Organizational Chart (yearly revision and dissemination by President’s office)



Policy Effective Date: February 18, 2013

Cabinet Approval:

  • February 18, 2013
  • April 7, 2014