Home » Delta State University Policies » University Policies » Academic and Administrative Operations » Traffic and Parking
Traffic and Parking
The Board of Trustees, State Institutions of Higher Learning of Mississippi, approves the establishment of traffic rules and regulations for the control, direction, parking, and general regulations of traffic of all motor vehicles on the campus of Delta State University.
These regulations are an official part of General University Administrative Regulations. All students and employees (faculty, staff and other employees) by their enrollment or acceptance of employment are subject to said administration regulations.
The Delta State Police Department is located in Office 202 of the H.L. Nowell Union. The Director and staff encourage students, faculty, staff and visitors to solicit their assistance on all matters concerning traffic regulations and campus security.
In accordance with Title 37-105-9 of the Mississippi Code, officers within the Delta State University Police Department are vested with the powers and subjected to the duties of a constable for the purpose of preventing and punishing all violations of law on university or college grounds and for preserving order and decorum thereon.
The Delta State Police Department operates 24 hours a day. The department is comprised of certified law enforcement officers consisting of one Chief of Police, one Assistant Chief, and seven police officers. The Department also has two certified police dispatchers, one secretary and various student workers. The Delta State Police Department does and shall continue to have a good working relationship with local, county and state agencies in all areas of law enforcement
- Students and employees who park their motor vehicles on the campus must register their vehicles with the Delta State Police Department. Registration decals must be purchased at the Student Business Services’ Office. The University will not be responsible for providing parking spaces for registered vehicles, nor can the University be held responsible for any damages to vehicles or occupants while vehicles are on campus.
- Students who register late will report to the Delta State Student Business Services’ Office to register their vehicles. A registration decal for a vehicle shall be effective from the date of purchase through second term summer school.
- Decals must be permanently affixed to the outside of the lower left corner of the rear window or left rear bumper or the fender of motorcycles.
- The cost of vehicle registration/decal purchase will be as follows:
o $15.00 if purchased in the fall term.
o $15.00 if purchased in the spring term.
o $ 7.00 if purchased in the 1st/2nd sessions of summer terms.
- Recipients will at all times be responsible for the decal issued to them. If a vehicle is sold or traded within the school year, a current decal may be removed (place pieces on a scrap of paper) and presented to the Delta State Student Business Services’ Office where a new decal may be obtained for $1.00; otherwise, there will be a charge of the full registration fee.
- You may obtain up to three temporary parking permits per term for each vehicle you have registered. The temporary permits may be issued for a minimum of one day or a maximum of one week. Persons using borrowed vehicles must obtain a temporary campus permit which will be issued at no charge. Such permits should be obtained immediately after arrival of vehicle on the campus. The temporary permit should be affixed to the lower left side of the rear window.
- Students changing from a commuter to a campus housing status or from a campus housing status to commuter, etc., may remove a current decal and exchange it for the needed type for $1.00. The decal on your vehicle should always reflect your current status as a student: failure to make the proper changes may result in parking tickets and/or charges through student court.
- DEALER TAGS: Persons wanting to register vehicles displaying dealer tags will not be sold a Delta State decal. A free temporary parking permit may be obtained for a vehicle with a dealer tag when your currently registered vehicle is in the shop and the dealer has supplied you with a dealer vehicle. YOU MUST PRESENT A STATEMENT ON DEALERSHIP LETTERHEAD ADVISING THAT YOU HAVE BEEN LOANED SUCH VEHICLE WHILE YOUR VEHICLE IS BEING WORKED ON IN ORDER TO OBTAIN A TEMPORARY PERMIT. Without this letter, we will not issue a temporary permit. Temporaries will not be issued beyond ten days from the date of the letter.
- RENTAL TAG: Persons wanting to register vehicles displaying rental tags will not be sold a Delta State Decal. A free temporary parking permit may be obtained for a vehicle with a rental tag while your currently registered vehicle is in the shop for repair.
- HANDICAP DECALS: Students/Employees who need access to handicap parking areas on campus must obtain a green Delta State Handicap Decal in addition to their regular decal. To obtain one, simply present a recent statement on letterhead from your physician advising your handicap or a copy of your state issued handicap permit, etc., to the Delta State Police Department. Anyone with a handicap permit may park in any legal parking space on the Delta State campus.
Please Note: This allows us to distinguish between those who really need the handicap areas and those who do not need the handicap parking access but are simply using a relative’s car that is marked with a handicap tag, etc.
- Delta State reserves the right to regulate further the use of motor vehicles on the campus or to forbid the use of motor vehicles by a student or employee who refuses to abide by the parking and traffic regulations. Vehicles which accumulate fines of $30 or more are subject to being immobilized. Immobilized vehicles may be towed after (5) days if fines remain unpaid. An additional fine of $10 is levied at the time of immobilization. To operate a motor vehicle on the campus is a privilege, not a right, subject to the regulations set forth by the Board of Trustees and administered by the University.
- Vehicles with student or employee decals which are repeatedly ticketed for the same violation are subject to being immobilized or towed at the owner’s expense after a third ticket for the same violation has been issued- regardless of whether the prior tickets are outstanding or have been paid in full.
- Any violations cited against a permit number will be charged to the person to whom the permit was issued.
- Motor vehicles are to be parked on the campus and streets of Delta State University only in the areas designated as parking areas, in such a manner, at such a place, and for such time as may be indicated on appropriate signs or markers. Zoned areas are provided by number and color of decals as follows:
Zone 1 Blue Faculty and staff
Zone 2 Red Men’s Residence
Zone 3 Green Women’s Residence
Zone 4 Yellow Commuting Students
Zone 5 Purple Family Housing
Zone 6 Orange Areas Open to All Decals
- These zones are already marked and should be used only as indicated above. Zone violators will be ticketed.
- Only one decal may be visible on vehicles.
- Parking restrictions are in effect in:
Zone 1 From 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. Sunday through Saturday
Zone 2 At all times
Zone 3 At all times
Zone 4 From 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. Sunday through Saturday
Zone 5 At all times
Zone 6 From 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. Sunday through Saturday
- It is a violation of parking regulations to:
o Park in the wrong zone.
o Park in any area where curbing is painted yellow.
o Park in a manner so as to block a drive or walkway, or impede the flow of pedestrian traffic.
o Park out of marked lanes.
o Park on the grass.
o Double park.
o Park facing traffic.
o Park any vehicle, boat trailer, 3-wheeler, 4-wheeler or any other contraption of this nature in any parking space or around apartments over a long period of time. Parking of this nature must have permission of the Delta State Police Chief. Any vehicle, trailer, or other contraption violating this section shall be towed away at owner’s expense.
o Park in a space marked “Reserved”, “Visitor”, “For Handicapped”, or “Bailey Child Care”. These spaces are not to be used for dropping off or picking up passengers during any type of weather.
o Park in the mail drive.
o Back into a parking slot or pull through a parking slot.
- Drivers of all DSU-owned vehicles should comply with all traffic and parking regulations.
- No faculty, staff, or student can advise a person to park illegally.
- No unauthorized motor vehicle or bicycle may park in a posted handicapped parking place or block or obstruct access to such a parking place.
- The owner of a vehicle is responsible for the vehicle at all times.
- Driving regulations are in effect at all times.
- The campus speed limit is fifteen (15) miles per hour for all motor vehicles unless otherwise marked. However, safe driving is the principal regulation.
- All operators of any motor vehicle must have in their possession a valid operator’s license.
- All operators of any motor vehicle must have a valid, up to date license plate (tag) on vehicle in plain view.
- Operators of motor vehicles must have children restrained in a proper child safety restraint as per Mississippi Code #63-7-301.
- It is a violation of driving regulations to :
o Drive in excess of the speed limits.
o Fail to heed traffic signs.
o Fail to come to a complete stop and proceed with caution at a stop sign.
o Operate a vehicle in a careless or irresponsible manner or while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, narcotic drugs, or any other mind altering agent.
o Move a vehicle from the scene of an accident until given permission by the investigating officer.
o To drive around any barricade unless otherwise directed by a member of the University Police Department.
o Drive on the grass.
o Operate a vehicle in such a manner as to make or cause to make any type loud or offensive noise including continuous horn blowing, car radio and unauthorized use of a public address system.
o Fail to report immediately to the Delta State Police Department any accident or collision on the campus or streets of Delta State University.
o Fail to obey the same traffic regulations while riding, operating, or parking any bicycle or non-motor vehicle.
o Operate a motorcycle or motorbike on any Delta State University property without a standard crash helmet securely fastened upon the head of the driver. Each passenger of the vehicle must wear a helmet.
o Operate a bicycle, motorcycle, or a motorbike when traveling at night without any operational headlight and tail-light. A bicycle may use a reflector instead of tail-light.
- Students and any member of the University community may register their bicycles for the sole purpose of having their number and description on record in case of theft.
- Registration of bicycles will be done free of charge.
- Any person, who rides, operates, or parks a bicycle or any other non-motor vehicle, including boats and trailer, on the campus shall be subject to all the terms and provisions of these regulations, except for those provisions which by their nature can have no application.
- No person shall ride a bicycle on any sidewalk, walkway, or any other area of the campus customarily used by pedestrians.
- No person shall park a bicycle in a walkway, on a sidewalk, in a hallway, or in or near a doorway except where use is made of a parking rack furnished by the University.
- No person shall ride, operate, or park at night on the campus or streets of Delta State University a bicycle not equipped with headlight and tail-light or reflector.
- Every regulation herein applicable to anyone riding, operating, or parking a bicycle on the campus shall also apply to anyone riding, operating or parking a motorcycle or motor scooter.
- No person who operates or drives a motorcycle, or other motor driven cycle having two or more wheels, shall carry any other person in or upon such vehicle on the campus unless such vehicle is equipped with:
o A dual seat designed for two persons, or a separate passenger seat with a double footrest: or
o A side car attachment providing a separate seat space for a passenger to be seated entirely within the attachment.
- No person shall roller blade (skate) on any sidewalk, walkway or any other area of the campus customarily used by pedestrians or inside any building on the campus. Any person wishing to roller blade (skate) on campus is to do so only on streets or parking lots and at their own risk. It is recommended that protective gear and reflective clothing be worn.
- Operators of motor vehicles or bicycles may not park or stop so as to block or obstruct a handicap entrance on a sidewalk, street or into any building.
- When violation of any rule or regulation set forth herein has been clearly established by waiver, voluntary admission, and /or by an official hearing, the offender shall be subject to a special administrative fee and/or shall be subject to disciplinary action.
- After notice of a violation, an appeal may be made within five (5) days at the Delta State Police Department to the Appeals Committee on a form provided by that office. If the offender so desires, he/she may request, and be entitled to, legal counsel. When appearing before the Appeals Committee, the offender may be present and question witnesses. A $20 appearance bond must be posted when filing an appeal.
- The following reasons are NOT acceptable grounds for appealing a traffic ticket:
- Ignorance of regulations
- Inability to find a legal parking space
- No space available
- Inclement weather
- Late for class
- Improperly displayed decal
- Failure to purchase a decal
- In lieu of the above procedure, the violation ticket may be taken to the Bolivar County District II Justice Court.
- TICKETS NOT PAID WITHIN SEVEN DAYS WILL DOUBLE IN THE AMOUNT CHARGED.
- After proper notification, any person who fails to surrender his/her registration permit (decal) or who operates or parks a motor vehicle on the Delta State Campus after the date which such privileges have been suspended shall have his/her vehicle towed off campus. This person shall be responsible for all costs incurred in towing and storing the vehicle. The University and its officials shall not be liable for any damage to the vehicle resulting from towing or storage thereof.
- Any vehicle that is illegally parked, abandoned, found on the campus with no license plate, no inspection sticker, or parked so as to constitute a hazard to vehicular or pedestrian traffic, shall be removed under the same stipulation as stated in Section VI., E. Mississippi Code, 1972. NOTE: Any vehicle that is broken down and has been parked on campus for over one month will be removed from campus at the owner’s expense unless otherwise approved by the department director.
- Delta State University is located within the corporate limits of the City of Cleveland. Delta State Police officers are full-time police officers certified by the State of Mississippi through the Mississippi Law Enforcement Officers Training Academy. Each officer meets the professional criteria as established by the state’s Minimum Standards Board.
- Any student or employee who so desires may take a violation ticket to the Bolivar County District II Justice Court. Appeals handled through the Justice Court will be charged through Mississippi Code No. 37-105-1.
- Provisions effective July 1, 1972, require that all vehicles operated on the University streets will be properly insured with a minimum of 10-20-5 by a reputable insurance company and that proof of insurance be kept in vehicle as per MS Code # 63-15-4-2a.
- In addition to the aforesaid rules and regulations, all ordinances of the City of Cleveland and/or the laws of the State of Mississippi are in effect on all Delta State University property.
- The Rules and Regulations herein promulgated have been (and future –changes and additions will be) published in three consecutive issues of the University newspaper.