# Administrative Staff Council Meeting Minutes November 1, 2017

## Members Present: (22 Members Present)

Lee Aylward, Deborah Cox, Emily Dabney, Leigh Emerson, Amber Foster, Julie Jackson, Tricia Killebrew, Michael Lipford, Michael McDonald, Diana McDowell, Davlon Miller, Hayley Murrell, Mary Ruth Phillips, Marilyn Read, Christy Riddle, Amanda Robinson, Christie Rocconi, Jeff Slagell, Tarnisha Smith, Caitlyn Thompson, Mary Helen Varner, Layla Young

## Members Absent: (24 Members absent)

Laura Abraham, Rebecca Arant, Jeff Barkman, Cecil Barnett, Matthew Bishop, Jeff Borganelli, Craig Clemons, Claire Cole, Chip Cooper, Edwin Craft, Kelvin Davis, Jennifer Farish, Dana George, Lisa Giger, Tina Gladden, David Hebert, Richard Houston, Jeff Johns, Emily Jones, Matt Jones, Paula Lindsey, Rhonda Loper, Heather Miller, David Tanner

## I. Call to order/Welcome

• Chair, Caitlyn Thompson, officially called to order the meeting of the Administrative Staff Council at 8:30 a.m. in the Simmons Room of the Alumni House.

#### **II. Approval of Minutes**

 Minutes from December 2017 meeting were distributed via email. Christie Rocconi made a motion to approve the minutes and Davlon Miller seconded it. The minutes were approved unanimously by the membership.

# **III. Officer's Reports**

- Chair: Caitlyn Thompson Caitlyn report that Cabinet had not met recently, so there was no new information to share. A question was asked and discussion continued— Who decides how many days we get for Christmas? The answer was IHL. Caitlyn also reminded the members that Purge I was scheduled for January 4 and Purge II was scheduled for January 17.
- Chair-Elect: Davlon Miller No report.
- Past Chair: Christie Rocconi No report.
- Executive Secretary/Treasurer: Julie Jackson
  - DSU Fund Balances per Banner (as of 01.03.18):

Fund 10 \$2500.00
 Projects \$1,142.45
 Staff Development \$3,685.96

Foundation balances per Deborah Cox:

Staff Appreciation \$652.40
 Staff Development \$91.97
 Projects \$1107.18

- Public/University Relations Coordinator: Jennifer Farish No report.
- Ombudsman: Jeff Slagell No report.

### **IV. Committee Reports:**

- Incentives and Recognition: Emily Jones No report.
- Projects: Rhonda Loper Caitlyn reported on behalf of Rhonda. The Toy Drive was great!
- Salaries & Benefits: Deborah Cox Thank you to all who assisted with the Staff Breakfast in December. If anyone has any recommendations, please contact Deborah. Our Textbook Award deadline is Thursday and we will announce the winners on Monday.
- Staff Development: Emily Dabney Emily reported that the two presentations held in December were well received. There were 10 participants at the morning session and 14 at the afternoon session. The Police Department and the Library had great representation.

## V. Faculty Senate & SGA Reports:

- Faculty Senate: David Hebert No Report.
- Student Government Association: Layla Young Layla asked why Commencement was held in the BPAC instead of Sillers. What are the pros and cons of each location? Some things that were shared were as follows: the number of tickets the graduates receive differs based on location, the number of ceremonies is different now, the construction at Sillers is the reason it was originally moved, did we have two ceremonies while in Sillers, do we want to go back to one ceremony a year, seating is nicer in BPAC, the appearance of the ceremony is nicer in BPAC, the number of volunteers changes based on location and it is already hard to find enough to assist.

#### VI. Old Business:

Committee sign-up lists were shared. If someone didn't get to sign up, please do so today.

#### VII. New Business:

 Chair Elect position – we will vote for our new Chair-Elect in February, because Caitlyn Thompson is leaving DSU in mid-January.

#### VIII. Announcements:

Next meeting February 7, 2018 at 8:30 a.m. in Union 302-A.

IX. Adjournment: 9:08 a.m.