Program Objectives | Meet The Faculty | Program Offerings

About Our E-Learning Program

Delta State University’s E-Learning program is an interactive system for delivering courses from Delta State University to K-12 schools. Courses are delivered through a synchronous, two-way, audio/video (internet based) system by Master Teachers who are fully certified in their subject areas by the Mississippi Department of Education. Course offerings are determined based on the needs of the teaching sites. Professional development is provided for school districts through this medium.

Delta State currently operates five teaching studios. Policies and procedures are developed through a partnership between Mississippi Public Broadcasting, Delta State, and school district representatives. .  

The schools provide classroom space, e-mentors, on-site technical support, and textbooks. Delta State’s E-Learning program provides the teacher, technical assistance, and instructional support materials.

Components of the E-Learning Program include the following:

  • Fully certified faculty providing instruction in courses
  • Appropriate staff to ensure efficient operation and sufficient technology support
  • State-of-the-art equipment for operations and broadcasts
  • Training for Center faculty/staff and district personnel
  • Collaborative structures to foster strong communication among districts, university personnel and staff
  • Dual enrollment is offered to high school students who wish to earn college credit

Program Objectives

  • To offer the classes needed to meet college admissions requirements
  • To provide school districts an opportunity to offer advanced electives and fine arts that they would otherwise not be able to offer due to lack of qualified personnel and financial limitations.
  • To incorporate new technology into the everyday curriculum of the state’s high schools
  • To encourage critical and individual thinking skills
  • To foster strong communication among districts

For more information on the E-learning Program at Delta State University contact:

Angela Bridges , Program Director, email:

Participating Schools

  • Ashland
  • Broad Street
  • Charleston
  • Coffeeville
  • Coldwater
  • East Webster
  • Ethel
  • Hickory Flat
  • Houlka
  • Jefferson County
  • J. J. McClain
  • John F Kennedy
  • Lake
  • McAdams
  • School for the Blind
  • Okolona
  • Palmer
  • Port Gibson
  • Richton
  • Scott Central
  • Sebastopol
  • Simmons
  • Strayhorn
  • S. V. Marshall
  • West Bolivar
  • Wilkinson County
  • Williams-Sullivan

Program Offerings

Year Schools Students Teachers Courses Budget Source
2004-05 2 75 1 Spanish I & Spanish II $33,000 Phil Hardin Foundation
2005-06 5 208 1 Spanish I & Spanish II $200,036 MDE and IHL
2006-07 14 283 2 Spanish I & Spanish II $210,000 Legislature & Carry-Over Funds
2007-08 20 338 2 Spanish I & Spanish II $300,000 Legislature
2008-09 22 440 3 Spanish I, Spanish II & Art $335,000 Legislature & Private Funding
2009-10 29 634 4 Spanish I, Spanish II, Art, AP History & Physics $350,000 Legislature
2010-11 27 556 5 Spanish I, Spanish II, Art, Physics & Physical Science $350,000 Legislature
2011-12 27 556 4 Art I, Spanish I, Spanish II, Physics & Physical Science $350,000 Legislature
2012-2013 31 741 4 Art I, Spanish I, Spanish II, Elementary Spanish, Physics & Physical Science $350,000 Legislature

 [back to top]