Home » College of Business » Scholarships


Delta State University and The College of Business offer many merit-based and affiliation scholarships to make college more affordable to students. For information on eligibility requirements, contact Mr. Jim Brown or the Office of Financial Aid.

Cellular South College of Business Scholarship

The recipients of this scholarship must be residents of Mississippi and entering freshman who plan to major in accounting or computer information systems. The recipients must also have a minimum ACT of 22 and a GPA of 3.0 or better.

James L. Williams Memorial Business Scholarship

In 1998, the family of James Williams established this scholarship to memorialize the outstanding business and civic contributions made to Cleveland by Mr. Williams. This annual scholarship is presented to African-American juniors or seniors majoring in finance, general business, or insurance and real estate.

Cleveland State Bank N.L. "Nap" Cassibry, Jr. Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 1999 in memory of the late Mr. Cassibry, who was chairman of the board for Cleveland State Bank and an active business and community leader in Cleveland. Full-time students majoring in degree programs in the College of Business, who demonstrate financial need, qualities of community service, and have attained an overall GPA of 2.75 are eligible for this award.

Hayden-Mitchel College of Business Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship was established in January 1999 by Hayden Mitchell, a 1975 honor graduate. This scholarship is available to sophomores, juniors, and seniors majoring in any program in the College of Business.

Tim Davis-State Bank and Trust Memorial Scholarship


Raynold Chiz Memorial Scholarship

In 1986, the family of Raynold Chiz established this scholarship to memorialize the outstanding business and civic contributions made to Shaw by Mr. Chiz. This is an endowment fund, the interest of which is available for a scholarship for a worthy student in the College of Business.

Land Bank of North Mississippi Scholarship


Faulkner Business/Education Scholarship

Awarded to a student from Washington County, Mississippi, whose major is in the College of Business or College of Education. The student shall have an outstanding record of community service and financial need.

George C. Wofford Character Award

Established to honor the memory of George C. Wofford, a 1936 graduate and longtime supporter of DSU. The recipient shall be a junior business major with a 3.0 GPA who exemplifies high moral and ethical standards.

Staplcotn Annual College of Business Scholarship

Three scholarships will be awarded to full-time College of Business students who are residents of Mississippi and demonstrate leadership skills and academic achievement. Preference will be given to students who are from families either farming cotton or connected to the cotton industry.

McDonald’s Retzer and Retzer Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Mr. and Mrs. Mike Retzer in honor of Dr. Lawton K. Owens. This is an annual scholarship presented to a junior or senior student majoring in Management and Marketing.

Mississippi Society of CPAs Scholarship


Delta Chapter of CPAs Scholarship


Florene Eubank Campbell Johnson Memorial Scholarship

This endowed scholarship was established by Walter and Harvey Campbell in honor of their mother Florene Eubank Campbell Johnson, a retired branch manager and vice-president for the Bank of Clarksdale. This scholarship is to be awarded to a rising junior or senior accounting major preferably from Coahoma County who has CPA potential. The recipient will be selected based on character, scholastic achievement, leadership ability, and willingness to make a difference in the Mississippi Delta.

SABA – Viking Range Corporation Scholarship


Gibson-Yurkow Scholarship

This scholarship was established to honor the late Dr. John C. Gibson, Dean Emeritus of the College of Business and the late John Yurkow, Jr., Chair Emeritus of the Department of Accountancy. The scholarship is to be awarded to an outstanding incoming freshmen demonstrating good character, projecting above-average academic potential, and possessing high scores on the ACT and/or the SAT.

William Benoit Holloway Scholarship


John Yurkow Accounting Fellowship


John P. Quon Graduate Accounting Scholarship


Tarver Scholarship


Holiday Inns Scholarship

This scholarship was endowed in 1980 by Holiday Inns to honor six of their staff members who were Delta State Students.

Association of Information Technolgy Professionals Service Scholarship

This scholarship, established in 2011, is awarded each semester to a member of the Delta State University Student Chapter of the Association of Information Technology Professionals who has provided outstanding service to the organization.

Mississippi Young Bankers Leadership Scholarship


Mississippi Insurance Education Scholarship


George C. Wofford Memorial Scholarship


Janoush Scholarship