Department of Biological Sciences
Alpha Epsilon Delta


AED crest

AED is the world’s largest honor society exclusively serving premedical education. The mission of the Society is to encourage and recognize excellence in premedical scholarship; to stimulate an appreciation of the importance of premedical education; to promote communication between medical and premedical students and educators; to provide a forum for students with common interests; and to use its resources to benefit health organizations, charities and the community.

The Mississippi Eta Chapter seeks to provide our members with the opportunity to meet with various professionals within the medical community, pre-health advisors, and admissions officers from various professional schools. Additionally, we work to provide our members with the necessary information (such as application deadlines, course requirements, and interview strategies) that is vital to successfully gaining admission to professional school and for succeeding once you get there. Our members are also encouraged to participate in community services.

Officers for 2016-2017

President Kara Lane Nowell
Vice-President Sara Barrett
Secretary-Treasurer Dana Rico
Historian Christin Manor
Faculty Advisor  Dr. Séverine Groh

AED officers
2016-2017 AED officers, from left to right: Dana Rico (Secretary-Treasurer), Kara Lane Nowell (President), Sara Barrett (Vice-President), Christin Manor (Historian)

Why should I join AED?

When you apply to a medical school or other health-related professional school, admissions committees look for several things in your application. Most important are: excellent scholarship, admission exam scores (MCAT), extracurricular involvement, health care experience, and letters of recommendation. Just going to class and making excellent grades is not enough. You must be involved with activities other than academics that are designed to broaden your application portfolio. You can find out how to do this by joining AED. If you are serious about a health care profession, then you need to be involved with a total program of preparation. AED membership looks good on your application by itself, but as an active member, you benefit from one of AED’s primary goals-to help inform and assist you in the whole pre-health student experience.

Membership requirements

Membership in AED is offered to pre-health students recognized to have superior scholastic achievement.

To be eligible for membership, you must have:

  • a GPA of at least 3.2 on all college course work
  • a GPA of at least 3.2 in science and math courses (BIO, CHE, PHY, MAT)
  • completed at least 3 semesters of full-time course work at an accredited college or university, including at least 1 semester at Delta State.
  • The minimum of 3 semesters must have been completed at the time of application. That is, you cannot be accepted for membership while still enrolled in the 3rd semester.

How to apply for membership

If you are a pre-health professions student at DSU, you can apply for AED membership at anytime as long as you meet the requirements listed above. Students are accepted into the society as soon AED confirms that they meet the requirements. An official initiation ceremony happens each Spring to officially induct new members. You can pick up an application from the Department of Biological Sciences office or download one here:

AED application (PDF).

Submit your completed application to the AED faculty advisor or to the department office.

Health Professions FAQ

AED has an ongoing project with the intention of providing important information to new students interested in the health professions. We are assembling a list of frequently asked questions (FAQ) related to any aspect of pre-health professions programs. That FAQ will be posted on this web site as it evolves. If you have a question about admission to medical, dental, or any other health profession school; about program requirements; about what courses to take; about how to apply for professional school; about how difficult it is to get accepted; or about ANY aspect of the pre-professional program experience, please submit to us.

Email your question to Dr. Tiftickjian at You can also submit questions on paper to Dr. Tiftickjian or to any AED officer or to Ms. Knight in the Divison office, Walters 180.


AED initiates new members for 2016-2017 academic year

At its annual initiation ceremony on April 18, 2016, AED welcomed 12 new members into the society for the 2016-2017 school year. These students have attained the high quality of scholarship required for membership. Welcome new members! We look forward to a productive new AED year beginning in August.

New AED initiates
Front row, from left to right: Kimberly Austin, Skylar Kuehn, Dana Rico, Lavenus Dudley, Christin Manor, Sara Barrett
Back row, from left to right: Zachary Kinler, Kelby Flemons, Jean Blackmon, Parker Pearson, Anthony Tate, Tyler Sullivan

AED meetings

AED meets approximately once a month during the school year. It also sponsors speakers at other times who bring their health professions expertise to share with pre-health students.

All pre-health students are always invited to AED meetings. You don’t have to be member to attend and participate in AED events and projects.

2016-2017 Membership

Sara Barrett Jean Blackmon Lavenus Dudley Kelby Flemons
Taylor Holland Darius Kennedy Zachary Kinler Skylar Kuehn
Christin Manor Haley McDonald Doug Miller Rebekah Napier-Jameson
Kara Lane Nowell Katie Penton Hannah Register Dana Rico
Tyler Sullivan Anthony Tate Will Weeks

Pre-health Resources on the Web

AED related

Health professions schools

MCAT help

Other pre-health resources

Biological Sciences Home | Department News | Faculty | Degree Programs | Pre-health Programs | Course Descriptions 
Scholarships | Student Resources | Caylor-White-Walters Renovation | Center for Science and Environmental Education 
Elliott Program of Excellence  | Alpha Epsilon Delta | Beta Beta Beta 

Delta State University > Arts and Sciences > DSU Biology > Alpha Epsilon Delta

Department of Biological Sciences
Delta State University, Cleveland, MS 38733

This page is maintained by John Tiftickjian
and was last modified April 21, 2016