Tau Delta chapter of Phi Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony: Spring 2014

This spring, the Tau Delta chapter of Phi Alpha Theta welcomes two new members, Ms. Mary Lawson Barlow and Ms. Emily Fox. Ms. Barlow is a senior Political Science major from Greenwood, MS. Ms. Fox hails from Batesville, MS, and is a senior Social Science Education major.

Phi Alpha Theta is an international honor society that recognizes outstanding academic performance in the field of History. To be inducted into this prestigious honor society, students must have completed 12 hours in history while earning a 3.1 GPA in History courses and a 3.0 GPA overall. Members are not required to be majors in the field of History.

Currently, Phi Alpha Theta has over 350,000 members around the world. Since its inception at Delta State in 1972, the Tau Delta chapter has inducted over 300 members, among them the current DSU President William N. LaForge.

Dr. Charles Westmoreland, Jr. serves as faculty advisor for the DSU chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. The Division of Social Sciences and History would like to congratulate Ms. Barlow and Ms. Fox on this outstanding honor.