DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY

A Guide to Finding Information in the Instructional Resources Center

EZRA JACK KEATS BOOK AWARDS

Known collectively as the Ezra Jack Keats Book Award, the New Writer Award was established in 1985, and the New Illustrator Award in 2001, to recognize and encourage authors and illustrators starting out in the field of children's books. The Ezra Jack Keats Book Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator of picture books for children (age 9 and under) and are presented by The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation.

Year	Author	Title	Call Number
2011	Laurel Croza	I Know Here	813 C954i Juv
2010	Tonya Cherie Hegamin	Most Loved in All the World	813 H462m Juv
2009	Stian Hole	Garmann's Summer	839.823 H729g Juv
2008	David Ezra Stein	Leaves	813 S81831 Juv
2007	Kelly Cunnane	For You Are a Kenyan Child	813 C9725f Juv
2006	Mary Ann Rodman	My Best Friend	813 R693my Juv
2005	Janice Harrington	Going North	813 H299g Juv
2004	Jeron Ashford Frame	Yesterday I Had the Blues	813 F813y Juv
2003	Shirin Yim Bridges	Ruby's Wish	813 B8518rw Juv
2002	Deborah Wiles	Freedom Summer	813 W676fr Juv
2001	D.B. Johnson	Henry Hikes to Fitchburg	813 J663h Juv
2000	Soyoung Pak	Dear Juno	813 P152de Juv
1999	Sephanie Stuve-Bodeen	Elizabeti 's Doll	813 S937e Juv
1998	No Award	No Award	
1997	Juan Felipe Herrera	Calling the Doves	811 H565ca Juv
1996	No Award	No Award	
1995	Cari Best	Taxi! Taxi!	
1994	No Award	No Award	
1993	Faith Ringgold	Tar Beach	813 R581t Juv
1992	No Award	No Award	
1991	Angela Johnson	Tell Me a Story, Mama	813 J66te Juv
1990	No Award	No Award	
1989	Yoriko Tsutsui	Anna's Special Present	
1988	No Award	No Award	
1987	Juanita Havill	Jamaica's Find	813 H388jsf Juv
1986	Valerie Flournoy	The Patchwork Quilt	813 F643p Juv

NEW-WRITER AWARD BOOKS

NEW-ILLUSTRATOR AWARD BOOKS

Year	Illustrator	Title	Call Number
2011	Tao Nyeu	Bunny Days	813 N9938b Juv
2010	Taeeun Yoo	Only a Witch Can Fly	813 M1450 Juv
2009	Shadra Strickland	Bird	813 E469b Juv
2008	Jonathan Bean	The Apple Pie that Papa Baked	813 T4738ap Juv
2007	Kristen Balouch	Mystery Bottle	
2006	Yunmee Kyong	Silly Chicken	
2005	Ana Juan	The Night Eater	813 J91n Juv
2004	Gabi Swiatkoska	My Name is Yoon	813 R311my Juv
2003	Sophie Blackall	Ruby's Wish	813 B8518rw Juv
2002	Jerome Lagarrigue	Freedom Summer	813 W676fr Juv
2001	Bryan Collier	Uptown	813 C699u Juv

MAS 12.15.2011