Delta State University Faculty Senate Wednesday, May 6th, 2010 Extraordinary Meeting 3:30 p.m., Union 302

Members present:

Eckward McKnight

Ellen S. Green

Brett Oleis

Allan Mitchell

Subramanian Swaminathan

Tricia Walker

Nina Baghai-Riding

Duane Shuttlesworth

Patricia Roberts

Debarashmi Mitra

Tony Grice

Tricia Walker Tony Grice
Daniel Glenn David Hebert
Douglas L. Mark Catherine Hayes
Lynn Varner Stephen Patton
Alinda Sledge Maud Kuykendall

- **I.** Agenda (05-06-10) and Minutes (04-08-10 & 04-15-10) approved.
- **II.** Senate President discussed the new textbook policy.
- **III. Report from Budget Committee:** Data is being summarized. Example cost per prefix, six year trend of data 2004-2009, enrollment by major, credit hour and weighted credit hour production. Report will be released in the next 30 days to chairs and deans.
- **IV. Provost Question Time:** Interim dean will be appointed, we will conduct a search for a permanent replacement or we will restructure the position.
- **V. Faculty petition:** A resolution will be drafted to discuss this matter.
- VI. Vision statement resolution: Sent to general affairs committee for discussion.
- VII. Parliamentarian Resolution: Sent to elections committee.
- VIII. Pass / Fail Resolution: Withdrawn and returned to committee.
- **IX.** Adjournment: Unanimously approved

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Patton, Secretary 04/29/2010_Patton